Mad Cow Disease

KipWellsFan

Do you guys know anything about this whole issue with America banning live cattle from Canada into America, and Japan and others banning all beef from America? I think its all political but I'm not an expert on the subject.

Apparently there has also been a case of Mad Cow in America recently reported.

Possible new case of mad cow disease found in the United States

Bio-Rad says rapid mad cow test highly accurate

there has only been one confirmed case in the US and that was from a cow that came from canada. there have been several others that came up with inconclusive tests that were sent for more rigorous testing in the UK. as of yet none of them came back positive.

politics are surely involved, but it is certainly not "all political."

http://www.madcowboy.com/

Howard Lyman -- the former cattle rancher that is famous for going on Oprah a few years ago and getting her sued by the National Cattlemans' Beef Association for saying she'd never eat another burger again after he told her the details of how the big factory farms work.

This is his statement from Jan. 04 --

"In 1990, when I first started talking about mad cow disease, I never thought that the USDA would risk the entire cattle industry to protect the profits of a few corporations. It seemed common sense that we had to quit feeding slaughter house waste to grass-eating animals. It is crazy to continue a practice that is unnatural, dangerous and which consumers find abhorrent. Every country dealing with the mad cow issue has learned that there are two things essential to restore consumer confidence. You have to quit feeding animals to your food animals and you must institute a wide spread program of testing. When mad cow disease destroyed the cattle industry in England it also caused the fall of the Tory Government. It was plain that lying to the consumers was a bad choice.