Joe Cowley article

Queen Prawn

Life takes on new meaning this Thanksgiving

Life takes on new meaning this Thanksgiving

Wednesday, November 24, 2004

I never got it.

I didn't understand the whole fascination with cyclist Lance Armstrong.

"Dude rode a bike and rode it better than a bunch of Euros … big deal."

How wrong I was.

Never has one athlete captured my focus as Armstrong has these days. But not just because of what he does on a bike. Armstrong fought the very battle I am just beginning to fight. More important, he won.

After I had some vomiting bouts over the course of six months, my wife, Molle, finally talked me into going to the doctors. Physically, I felt fine. The White Sox season had ended, I was playing basketball almost every day, there were no signs of sickness beside a few nights of nausea since May.

I brushed it off as just viruses picked up on airplanes or simply the fact that covering the Sox can do that to a man every so often.

I was sent for a series of tests, the first being a CAT scan on my abdomen area.

"We found an abnormality in the small intestine," the doctor would tell me a day later. "I'd like to send you to a surgeon."

Within a week of thinking I was suffering from some sort of food allergy or something minor that a pill could fix, I was sitting with the surgeon and talking about the chance that I had lymphoma.

"Can't be," I kept thinking. "I'm 36 years old, work out five days a week … just can't be."

Because of where the obstruction was in my small intestine, the only way it could be reached was surgery. They would open me up, see what it is and remove it. And Sox general manager Ken Williams thought he had a bad start to his offseason.

On Nov. 5, I underwent a two-plus-hour surgery in Minneapolis in which almost a foot of my small intestine was removed. As the doctors had guessed, it was lymphoma, which is a cancer that attacks the lymph tissues scattered throughout the body.