Dick Allen story

LosMediasBlancas

QUOTE(Texsox @ Feb 7, 2005 -> 04:30 PM)
funny if it's true.

Now, the story would have been he was in a bathroom stall with Bonds, Giambi, Canseco, Sosa, McGuire, (how big are those stalls) getting a steroid shot . . . :bang

It's right up there with the guy eating a hot dog, on roop top near Wrigley, still in his uni., during a game, classic.

QUOTE(The Critic @ Feb 7, 2005 -> 12:01 PM)
It's funny to me that the things Allen did have become almost legendary, but if he was a player these days he'd get destroyed if he did the exact same stuff.

Babe Ruth would have been in rehab a few times.

I remember that game. In fact, I graduated from Grammar School that day. I could swear though, that home run went into the upper deck in left field. Anyone else remember that?

BTW, Sparky Lyle was one of the best relief pitchers in the game at the time. When he came in to close out a game, it was considered almost automatic.

• 2 weeks later...
QUOTE(The Critic @ Feb 7, 2005 -> 12:01 PM)
It's funny to me that the things Allen did have become almost legendary, but if he was a player these days he'd get destroyed if he did the exact same stuff.

He caught plenty of hell in his time. Some deserved and some not. But you're right, today's vicious venal highlight reel driven sports media would give him no peace whatsoever. Nevertheless, personal faults and all he was a great talent who almost singlehandedly saved the Sox from extinction. He could stir a frenzy in the old ball park by just making an appearance in the on deck circle.

QUOTE(El Caballo @ Feb 20, 2005 -> 09:06 PM)
What about being locked inside a bathroom stall? Didn't that happen to Jeff Leifer about a year ago in the minors? He was supposed to play but he was no where to be found but stuck inside the bathroom?

Yeah that was frickin hilarious. Can you imagine being in that situation? :lolhitting

QUOTE(South Side Fireworks Man @ Feb 7, 2005 -> 07:09 PM)