Closer

wsox08

Hey, I'm a newbie to the forum. I've been a Sox fan for the 18 years I've lived. This forum seems great.. Well, WHo do you think should be closer? I honestly would go with Hermanson.. As long as Shingo doesn't struggle it will be fine but I'm worried. :gosox1:

QUOTE(southsider2k5 @ May 3, 2005 -> 10:32 PM)
Until tonight I would have said Dustin, based on this season.  But I think we just saw the realigning of the planets tonight with Shingo.

He was facing Kansas City. Let's not get carried away Michael. :P

QUOTE(southsider2k5 @ May 4, 2005 -> 02:32 AM)
Until tonight I would have said Dustin, based on this season.  But I think we just saw the realigning of the planets tonight with Shingo.

Two good things from Shingo tonight:

1.)He kept the ball low.

2.)He got ahead in the counts ('cept for Berroa).

It's a must that he has those two things every night if he even wants any chance of succeeding. He was good tonight, but I still hope that Ozzie goes by the situational closer, rather than the set closer (like Mario has been saying). So far, I've generally liked how Oz has played the matchups.

It'd be really great if Shingo gets his act back together and can close like he did for most of last season. Otherwise, I have no problem with the committee approach that has been taken for about the last week or two.

QUOTE(EvilJester99 @ May 3, 2005 -> 09:44 PM)
I am saying Shingo... the guy has some of the nastiest stuff...he just has to throw more strikes. He will be fine. Book it!!

Not just strikes. he HAS to work ahead of hitters to be effective.

Shinjo has some of the best movement on ALL of his pitches. Tailing movement on everything he throws, very hard to pick up on when he is on.

He is still my closer, with Hermanson there to spot fill in