Ab Workouts

WilliamTell

I just can't get rid of the fat around my stomach, I try and try and nothing seems to work. I'm not over weight or anything (6'2" 195 lbs) but I'd like to get rid of the extra weight around my stomach area. I've always had a belly so maybe that's just part of me, but I'm sick of it and want to try to do something about it. I bike a lot and I'm trying to eat healthier right now. I guess I'd like to know some of your ab workouts or suggestions for my quest at a leaner stomach. Thanks.

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert, but I'm your size (6'2 190) and I have the same problem. I've been doing some research on it and I have come to the realization that stomach exercises aren't really the answer. Everyone has ab muscles, but you have to be thin enough for them to show through. Stomach exercises would make them more defined, but for it to even show up, you have to be thinner. Otherwise you are just making your muscles stronger in your stomach, but you will never see them. So I'm really trying to watch my calories, and run alot, and see what happens, along with some ab exercises at the gym in case I ever do see them :-)

I've also heard that alot of calcium can help you lose weight in the stomach area, and I eat alot of cereal, but now I also take two calcium pills a day as well.

Granted, I could be wrong, but this is what I'm going with for now.

Let me bold this for you guys..

DOING AB WORKOUTS WILL NOT GET RID OF THAT FAT

You need to do CARDIO

All you are doing with ab workouts are building the muscles UNDER the fat, so you could have ripped abs but no one will be able to see them unless you do cardio..

Cardio and a healthy diet is the KEY to getting rid of that fat, but dont burn yourself out doing TONS of abs expecting the fat to melt right off, its cardio