Hampshire College

Texsox

If he plans on smoking a lot of dope but still wants to get a degree somewhere along the way, then that is the place for him. :P

No, seriously, if he plans on smoking a lot of dope but still wants to get a degree somewhere along the way, then that is the place for him. :ph34r:

Take a test - or don't - if you want. Help design your own curriculum. Don't expect an actuual letter grade, instead the teachers will write a course performance review. Get done in 4 years. . . 5 years, whatever.

I'm intrigued as well. Let me know how it turns out.

Edited by FlaSoxxJim

As a liberal art student myself, if your son likes the arts, don't deny him the opportunity to go to an art school. He'll be able to do what he wants and he'll be with students that enjoy the same things and will challenge him to his best. The teaching methods they use most likely won't be normal and it may be difficult to see the benefits, but believe me, the A-F, 0-100 scoring scale isn't for art.

I'm actually thinking of transfering here myself. If you have any other information, please let me know.

Actually a PhD in Psychology is his education goal, but he would like an opportunity to sample things along the way. Learn how to think. The 11:1 student/faculty ratio and an average class size of 16 seems like nirvana. From the research he has done, graduates seem to do well in grad school. I am concerned about the accreditation. It seems legit.

QUOTE(Texsox @ Nov 7, 2006 -> 07:01 AM)
Actually a PhD in Psychology is his education goal, but he would like an opportunity to sample things along the way. Learn how to think. The 11:1 student/faculty ratio and an average class size of 16 seems like nirvana. From the research he has done, graduates seem to do well in grad school. I am concerned about the accreditation. It seems legit.

FWIW, you get those kind of numbers in just about any small liberal arts school.

QUOTE(Soxy @ Nov 7, 2006 -> 10:47 AM)