Com Ed

Controlled Chaos

ComEd’s support of the arts could give you a real shock

By Chuck Goudie

Daily Herald Editorial Columnist

Posted Monday, January 08, 2007

So there is no confusion, I am not an electricity expert.

I do know this: if you wrap your fingers around the prongs of a plug and stick it in a socket you will get a shock.

If the power is working.

Nor am I am a utility company executive.

Nevertheless, I know John W. Rowe made $27,564,226 in a year as chairman of Exelon, the company that owns ComEd.

No, I’m just a customer who pays his monthly ComEd bill and expects the lights to go on when the switch is flipped.

Period.

Let me tell you what I don’t care about.

King Tut.

“On behalf of my colleagues and the board of directors of Exelon Corporation, I want to express how pleased we are to sponsor Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs, Rowe said last May as he unveiled a King Tut exhibition at Chicago’s Field Museum. It just closed last week.

“Exelon, as a leader in the electric and gas industry, understands the critical importance of supporting education and the arts in the communities we serve. One of our goals is to make Chicago a better place to live and visit, and I know of no better way than bringing exhibits like this to our town.”

What does being a leader in the electric and gas industry have to do with supporting education and the arts? What business does the company that we pay to power our lights, TVs and air conditioners have donating some of that money to a museum for an exhibit featuring jeweled collars and glittering bracelets?

I’m not an accountant either, but you don’t have to be a CPA to know that the money ComEd gave for the museum exhibit is just a trickle from the surge of cash that comes in every month for our electric bills.