Government Jobs?

Chisoxfn

Does anyone here work for the government? I have a friend who is interning with the government and I have been looking into various options (go back to school for my MBA) or try my career at the government level and I was curious as to whether anyone has worked for the government and what there experience was.

My background is in accounting and I currently work for one of the big "4". However, I'm always looking into other possibilities and I must admit I'm intrigued with the idea of the 5/4/9 workweek (you work 9 hours a day, plus one 8 hour a day shift for 9 days and get a day off every two weeks). Plus from what I was looking at it appears there are 10 holidays, 13 vacation days and 13 sick days a year (starting and I guess you get more vacation time as you stay with the government) in addition to a great pension plan.

One of the main things I am curious are the chances of promotion because If I were to leave my job (one where I know if I stay I will get promoted and promoted or fired if I'm not meeting there standards) I'd want to make sure I could continue a steady climb wherever I went.

Another concern was pay as I know in the past the government just didn't seem to pay as competitively as private business, but I also know the gov have recently up the pay for many of there positions (accounting positions being one of them) and I'm starting to think there benefits (is it something like full pension after 25 years of service???) mixed in with other stuff could make it something worth while (for someone who absolutely is beginning to hate working long hours).

So anyone have any experience with this or the MBA approach (ie the type of jobs you can look for coming out of an MBA; I know I read about the average salary an MBA makes starting but I wonder if those things really are that realistic).