Professional Resume

Bmr31

It has been several years since I have needed or created a resume. My background is in retail management and i need to create a professional resume. Does anyone have any suggestions? I have search and found sites that will charge me $150 and i have found free sites with create your own resume. Does anyone feel they are an expert in this area, and can offer me a recommendation on what to do? Your assistance is much apprciated!

Well, I don't know jack about writing a resume but I'm going to my college on the 7th of July and when I'm there I'll ask the counselor if they have some info on resumes which I could pass onto you (Mainly the format).

I think the key is just to have the proper format and you fill in the rest. I have a resume that I use, but I wouldn't recommend it since I have no idea whether its right or wrong.

Remember the rule of thumb that resumees must be no longer than one page long.  Also, MS Word 2000 has a great resumee wizzard you might wanna check out.

The one page rule works if your applying for a lower level position. Two pages will not be the kiss of death. Don't not put something on teh resume because you will go to page two.

Consider going to a temp agency that also does executive recruitment and let them know you would like to temp (even if you don't want to). they have excellent resume resources. And if you are using Microsoft Office log onto the office site, they have some good templates that people have uploaded.

Remember the rule of thumb that resumees must be no longer than one page long.  Also, MS Word 2000 has a great resumee wizzard you might wanna check out.

Not at all true Heather. If you're applying for anything second level you must list ALL your assets. Mine takes up 2 full pages. My boss told me that was the reason he called for an interview. They created my position for me.

But Word does have a great program. Also.. check out the books at the library. They have some great ideas in them.