Business Question

jasonxctf

as a sales manager, I have the ability to read my coworkers emails. I've noticed that one of my employees has been talking to a recruiter about another job, under her company-issued email address. (yes not very smart)

do I...

a) confront the employee knowing that this may create a "big brother" workplace.

B) ignore the situation knowing that I may be losing an employee soon (small co, would make a huge difference)

c) make the hard sell to the employee about why they need to be working here in the first place.

d) dont call them out on the carpet about the emails, but ask straight out if they are interviewing elsewhere.

thoughts???

do you have an HR dept? You could always say that HR clued you in and you wanted to talk about her about her job satisfaction, mobility, etc. What does she want, how can you as her mgr and/or the company help her achieve those goals. Find out what her "hot button" issues are and press your game from there.

And backup everything (if you weren't already). Just in case.

Since you read the emails, you may already have a clue as to why she is contemplating leaving. Sounds like some combination of C & D may be in order? Depends on how bad you want to keep them.

QUOTE(knightni @ Feb 6, 2008 -> 02:15 AM)
Prepare a backup plan, then wait it out.

Seems awfully... unpleasant to be reading someone else's private emails, even if you can as the boss.

he said it was company email...so it's not a private email.

Oddly enough, I as an employee, have been dealing with the same situation. I have been looking hard for a job and going on a few interviews. Of course, it is hard to interview outside of business hours so I have been suddenly wearing much nicer clothes to work and cutting out early or going to "pick up family member from airport."