Canoeing the Rio Grande River

Texsox

I've been living in South Texas, along the border, for over ten years. During that time, I have sailed and fished the Gulf of Mexico, backpacking and camping throughout the Rio Grande Valley, both on public and private lands. I have scanned the butterfly and birding maps and trodden down trails lined with mesquite and live oaks. I have grown to appreciate the beauty of cacti and respect the hard life of the plants and animals who occupy this region. I thought I knew all the best spots, saw all the best sights.

Until yesterday.

To have an interesting life, surround yourself with interesting people.

To see things you have never seen before, find friends who have seen things you have not.

This started with a phone call. Would you like to take a canoe trip down the Rio Grande with the Friends of Roma Bluffs? I've been hearing about these float trips for a few years and until now, have resisted trips on the river. I have visited areas near the population centers of McAllen and Donna and the river was dirty with all the signs of visitors that needed to move quickly and for whom taking time to dawdle and "leave no trace" was not an option. This trip was much further up the river, the put in spot was just a few miles below the Falcon Reservoir Dam and would put out several miles and approximately ninety minutes down current and into what would be the prevailing winds.