Professors and Office Hours

Texsox

9 members have voted

1. 1. How often are your professors in their offices during their office hours?

• Never
    • 25% of the time
    • 50-50 they will be there
    • Most of the time
    • Everytime
    • Waffles and Fried Chicken

QUOTE (FlaSoxxJim @ Oct 31, 2008 -> 01:03 PM)
I provide my phone number as well, along with a warning not to call me after 10 pm. Email solves most things anyway, unless somebody is bringing in a 6-pack of Guinness as a bribe gift for the prof.

We got email when I was a freshman, but you had to go to a campus-wide computer lab to check it. My sophomore year we got an internet connection as a campus. Email wasn't used by too many people, let alone profs. I wish it had been, that would have been nice.

QUOTE (southsider2k5 @ Oct 31, 2008 -> 01:14 PM)
We got email when I was a freshman, but you had to go to a campus-wide computer lab to check it. My sophomore year we got an internet connection as a campus. Email wasn't used by too many people, let alone profs. I wish it had been, that would have been nice.

You old bastard. You went to college before emails. :lol:

QUOTE (FlaSoxxJim @ Oct 31, 2008 -> 01:03 PM)
I provide my phone number as well, along with a warning not to call me after 10 pm. Email solves most things anyway, unless somebody is bringing in a 6-pack of Guinness as a bribe gift for the prof.

Would I have to actually show up to take your class?

True story. I knew one of my professors before I was a student. We had a mutual friend and I would occasionally share some stories over some expensive sippin' tequila. When I finally had an opportunity to take one of his classes, I was 13 points short of an A on an 800 point scale. I needed 720 and came up with 707, the second highest score in the class. His reaction when I went to talk to him? Damn, that's too bad, I was really pulling for you. You going to be at the picnic Saturday? :bang :lol: I had to love his honesty.