Do you like ESPN?

Do you like ESPN?  

66 members have voted

1. 1. Do you watch ESPN?

• Yes, it's a legitimate sports news source and one of the main places I get information
    • Hell no, it's worthless unless you are a fan of one of their favored teams
    • I don't ignore it, but there are other places I look before ESPN

Personally I've been boycotting ESPN for about 2 1/2 years now and I don't feel like I've missed a thing. Their coverage is ridiculous and at times hyperbolic, bordering on tabloid, and often their "analysis" is skin-deep trash. ESPN used to be the best network out there but it's been slipping, hard. I'm just wondering if anyone else ignores ESPN too.

edit: For clarity's sake, watching live events because they are broadcast by ESPN doesn't count if you want to choose the "Hell no" option.

Edited by lostfan

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

ESPN is doing now what MTV did in the 90's. moving away from what made them popular and into "reality" and making themselves the story. No, I am not a fan anymore. I still look at the bottom line if I need a score, but as soon as I see what I want, Im done

There should be an "It Depends" option. I love that the network exists, I love that they try and expand their coverage for events such as the ConFed Cup, Euro Soccer Leagues, Strongman etc...I like that Sportscenter and Baseball Tonight exist. BUT, I hate how they cover like 5 teams for 90% of their shows. I wish there was a good alternative but for the most part there isn't. So I guess my answer is one of those "Yes, but no" type deals.

QUOTE (KyYlE23 @ Jul 24, 2009 -> 10:46 AM)
ESPN is doing now what MTV did in the 90's. moving away from what made them popular and into "reality" and making themselves the story. No, I am not a fan anymore. I still look at the bottom line if I need a score, but as soon as I see what I want, Im done