Sox/Danks have talked numbers but "nothing too serious"

southsider2k5

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

QUOTE (knightni @ Jul 29, 2011 -> 08:12 PM)
Trade him to the Yankees this weekend while he still has high value.

Seriously, lets do this . . . I mean, I've been hoping for a rebuild mode for the last 4 years. I'm tired of watching this losing baseball (or barely winning baseball) . . . Lets get some young blood in here. Sell off Danks, Quentin, Thornton . . . I know Rios, Dunn and Peavy are going nowhere . . . But try to completely retool. I make sure to attend as many games as I can, but watching the same type of team every year is making me not want to go. I'd be more inclined to go if I could watch some up and coming type guys.

QUOTE (kageman129 @ Jul 30, 2011 -> 01:02 AM)
Seriously, lets do this . . . I mean, I've been hoping for a rebuild mode for the last 4 years. I'm tired of watching this losing baseball (or barely winning baseball) . . . Lets get some young blood in here. Sell off Danks, Quentin, Thornton . . . I know Rios, Dunn and Peavy are going nowhere . . . But try to completely retool. I make sure to attend as many games as I can, but watching the same type of team every year is making me not want to go. I'd be more inclined to go if I could watch some up and coming type guys.

Who do we get for the Yankees for Danks?

3-4 guys we've never heard of who will never make the bigs? I'd rather keep him and let him go free agent when the time comes.

Because our draft picks have done so well?

We're much better off getting guys like Stewart that Cooper has identified (AA/AAA level already) than starting off from scratch with draft picks.

This has been true for at least a decade. I trust those scouts looking at the other teams' minor leaguers more than our luck in identifying draftees.

QUOTE (caulfield12 @ Jul 29, 2011 -> 10:25 PM)
Because our draft picks have done so well?