Any college kids in here?

Flash Tizzle

Im an incoming freshman this year at the University of Illinois at Chicago. I start next Mon., and although I went through all the orientation (where dips***s explained college life) I was wondering if any of you had any advice to share.

Although it blows UIC isnt considered a party school, atleast I'll be only 10 minutes away from The Cell. Just have to take Roosevelt to the Dan Ryan, D-R to 35th. Its f***n sweet.

I was really looking for some advice, but I have some questions anyhow.

--Are their any school dances or social events: Homecoming, Winterfest, etc. Anything that you could bring a date to.

--Do you get any bull s*** holidays off: Columbus Day, Pulaski Day, Teacher Institutes.

--Are winterbreak, springbreak, or summerbreak shortened compared to the time spent off in high school.

--From your experience would you compare college to Animal House or Old School. Even though old school was about guys out of college starting a fraternity;it was just the view of college being a f***fest tied in with heavy drinking. (Heather, you could probably best answer that going to ISU......which I know for sure has some good parties.)

Well from the school aspect, I recommend going to classes. I think thats the big thing in having academic sucess in college.

As far as a personal level, just chat with random people. Once you meet some people, then they'll introduce you to their friends, etc. I'm not in a frat or anything (I got this thing about paying for friends and somehow thats what I think of a frat as :D ). As far as parties, my school is pretty lame in that department, so I usually go to parties of friends I know. I try to stay away from frat parties: Tons of Guys, not enough females, plus they are pretty lame in my book.

As long as your open with others, you'll make a lot of friends and have a ton of fun in college, plus you'll be helping yourself in the long run from a professional standpoint.