7/4 Games

GGajewski18

QUOTE (BigHurt3515 @ Jul 4, 2014 -> 09:05 PM)
So what do we do about Ravelo and Smith?

Ravelo is age appropriate and can move up when the infield jam is cleared up at Charlotte (today's 1B was Saladino, a shortstop by trade). I'd promote Smith now, but I guess it depends on what you think of Phegley.

QUOTE (Feeky Magee @ Jul 4, 2014 -> 10:21 PM)
Ravelo is age appropriate and can move up when the infield jam is cleared up at Charlotte (today's 1B was Saladino, a shortstop by trade). I'd promote Smith now, but I guess it depends on what you think of Phegley.

I wouldn't mind seeing Ravelo in AAA in August when hopefully Beckham is gone.. Is there a 1B that should be ahead of him in AAA though??

QUOTE (BigHurt3515 @ Jul 4, 2014 -> 09:51 PM)
I wouldn't mind seeing Ravelo in AAA in August when hopefully Beckham is gone.. Is there a 1B that should be ahead of him in AAA though??

Not really. Dan Black has put up good numbers at all levels but isn't really seen as a prospect.

QUOTE (BigHurt3515 @ Jul 4, 2014 -> 09:51 PM)

Black and Wilkins are more placeholders/AAAA/filler...at one point, some viewed Wilkins as more than that, but not so much recently.

Edited by caulfield12

I'd probably leave Ravelo alone for a while and see if he can convert some of his hitting prowess into power prowess. They have a bunch of IF in AAA and I doubt they want to move Wilkins to AA

QUOTE (Dam8610 @ Jul 5, 2014 -> 05:51 PM)
To people who know more about this sort of thing than I, is Recchia a "real prospect" or a "AAAA/Filler guy"?

More than likely just a filler guy, but he has yet to fail at the levels he should not be failing, so that's good. AA has slowed him down a little as expected, but he is finally facing more age-appropriate players. He will likely just fall in to the Leesman/Axelrod/Carroll type role which provides value at the end of the rotation when needed, but he's no one we have penciled in to a future rotation, I can promise you that.